It is Always Darkest before Dawn

As I was out of class for a fifteen-minute break today, I was walking in the corridor to go to my office. Two colleagues were ahead and talking. While I was passing by, I eavesdropped on their conversation, and I must say I wish I hadn’t done that.

One of the teachers was telling the other about an incident in her class. She said “A student before the break asked if she believed in the new system at school, and thought that it would produce the desired outcome”. She added that the very same student had expressed his disbelief in the process and she had to defend the system half-heartedly because she herself was not sure about its efficiency. Then the other teacher smiled at her friend and spoke words of agreement with her.

This incident hurt me-I mean it was really disappointing to hear two colleagues discouraged. Did I do or say anything to them? Honestly speaking, I did not. It was like I had fallen into abyss and could not react. Now I regret not going over to them and discussing that they were unable to see the big picture, but I just couldn’t. Then I became angry with myself and could only think of putting my feelings on paper; that’s how I am able to write this post at this hour of the day.

I know and admit by heart that the newly-adopted system at Anadolu University School of Foreign Languages requires extra attention and determination. I also recognize that time is needed to adjust to it and survive through it only to find ourselves stronger and more skilled. I mean I am doing my best to make the world a better place for myself, my colleagues and all the students we have, which is not a very easy task to accomplish, yet I am determined to achieve the ultimate goal. It is this determination that fills me with strength and motivation knowing, even at the hardest times, that IT IS ALWAYS DARKEST BEFORE DAWN.

When something looks difficult even to such an extent that we may feel too powerless to cope with that, it is best to remember Stuart Chase who once pointed

“For those who believe, no proof is necessary. For those who don’t believe, no proof is possible.”

and agree with Charles F.Kettering who said

“Believe and act as if it were impossible to fail.”

I wish you all days full of hope and perseverance with what you know is right and worth doing. Finally, I kindly ask you to believe that MIRACLES CAN HAPPEN.

4 responses to “It is Always Darkest before Dawn

Leave a Reply

